FAQ


Players are always coming up with interesting strategies and questions about how to play Camp Macabre. We are happy to address some frequently asked questions and respond to some common queries clarifying the game’s rules.

  1. Am I still in the game if my Opponent’s Monsters kill the only Camper I have on the field, but I still have Campers in my hand?
  2. I’m all out of Campers but I have Monsters, am I still in the game?
  3. When Bite Twist Cards are used to turn a Camper into a Monster, does that Monster keep the former Camper’s unique abilities?
  4. If an Opponent plays a Bite Twist Card to turn my token carrying Camper into a Monster, can I respond by removing the token to exercise my Camper’s ability?
  5. Why are there two of each Turned Card, when there is only one of each Bite Twist Card?
  6. If a token carrying Camper is sent to the Boneyard before the token is used and is then returned to play with Grave Error, does the token come back as well?
  7. Can I play a Twist Card at the end of my turn, after I just picked it up?
  8. I have five Zombies. Can I attack one Player with three Zombies and then attack another player with the two remaining Zombies?
  9. I see in the Rules that it’s possible to have a negative attack or defense value. So if I play Alcohol on Liz the Skeptic and attack, she will have a -1 defense value?
  10. Can I use my Campers to attack my opponent’s Campers?
  11. I’m down to my last Camper, and I just lost a battle to my opponent’s Monsters. To prevent being put out of the game can I use Grave Error to return a Camper from the Boneyard?
  12. I’m down to my last Camper, Kate the Boyfriend Stealer, and I just lost a battle to my Opponent’s Monsters. But my Opponent has a Boyfriend. To prevent being put out of the game, can I remove Kate’s token to steal their Boyfriend before Kate is sent to the Boyfriend?
  13. I’m down to my last Camper, and I just lost a battle to my Opponent’s Monsters. But my Opponent only has one Camper too. Can I use the Grim Reaper to kill my Opponent’s Camper thereby putting them out the game first?
  14. My Opponent only has one Camper and is attacking me with their Monsters. Before I roll for defence can I use Grim Reaper to kill my Opponent’s Camper, thereby preventing the attack?
  15. My Opponent uses Grim Reaper on my last Camper. Can I respond by using Grave Error to return another Camper from the Boneyard?
  16. If my Opponent uses Monster Mash and attacks with a horde that includes Zombies, Werewolves and Vampires, can I still use Holy Water, which prevents a loss to Zombies?

* * * * *


Q: Am I still in the game if my Opponent’s Monsters kill the only Camper I have on the field, but I still have Campers in my hand?

A: Yes. Think of Campers in your hand like Campers who have yet to venture out from the Cabin. They’re still alive; they just haven’t come out to play yet.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: I’m all out of Campers but I have Monsters, am I still in the game?

A: No. Once all of your Campers have been sent to the Boneyard, you are out of the game. After your final Camper has been killed you need to place all remaining Monsters, Weapons and cards from your hand into the Boneyard.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: When Bite Twist Cards are used to turn a Camper into a Monster, does that Monster keep the former Camper’s unique abilities?

A: No, the subject is a Monster now. All former Camper abilities are gone.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: If an Opponent plays a Bite Twist Card to turn my token carrying Camper into a Monster, can I respond by removing the token to exercise my Camper’s ability?

A: Not unless the Camper is Liz and you’re removing the token to prevent the Twist. But if the Bite Twist Card was not prevented then the subject becomes a Monster immediately and all former Camper abilities are gone, including the option to remove a token.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: Why are there two of each Turned Card, when there is only one of each Bite Twist Card?

A: Bite Cards may be returned from the Boneyard using the Mysterious Tome and then used again, resulting in the 2nd Turned Card being used.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: If a token carrying Camper is sent to the Boneyard before the token is used and is then returned to play with Grave Error, does the token come back as well?

A: Yes, the unused token comes back too. “Grave Error” means the Camper was mistakenly pronounced dead but was actually still alive the entire time. The Rules and Camper cards only say the token is removed when the Camper’s ability is used. If the Camper’s ability was not used before being sent to the Boneyard, then the token travels with them. Grave Error would then result in the Camper returning to play with that unused token. However, if the token was used before the Camper was initially sent to the Boneyard, then it’s gone.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: Can I play a Twist Card at the end of my turn, after I just picked it up?

A: No. Drawing cards signals the end of your turn and no further actions may be taken. But you can play your Twist Card at the beginning of the next Player’s turn, which is basically the same thing.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: I have five Zombies. Can I attack one Player with three Zombies and then attack another player with the two remaining Zombies?

A: Yes. Each Monster may attack once per turn so as long as you’re not using the same Zombies in either attack, then both attacks are legal.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: I see in the Rules that it’s possible to have a negative attack or defense value. So if I play Alcohol on Liz the Skeptic and attack, she will have a -1 defense value?

A: Correct – Liz will have a -1 defense value. When your Opponent rolls the 12 sided die they would deduct 1 from the roll for Liz.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: Can I use my Campers to attack my opponent’s Campers?

A: No. Campers may only attack Monsters and Monsters may only attack Campers.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: I’m down to my last Camper, and I just lost a battle to my opponent’s Monsters. To prevent being put out of the game can I use Grave Error to return a Camper from the Boneyard?

A: No. If you have already rolled for defense and lost and are unable to prevent the death with First Aid Kit, Wolfsbane, Crucifx, or Holy Water, you are immediately out of the game. Where you are out the game, you can no longer play cards. You need to use Grave Error before you roll for defence.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: I’m down to my last Camper, Kate the Boyfriend Stealer, and I just lost a battle to my Opponent’s Monsters. But my Opponent has a Boyfriend. To prevent being put out of the game, can I remove Kate’s token to steal their Boyfriend before Kate is sent to the Boyfriend?

A: No. If you have already rolled for defence and lost and are unable to prevent the death with First Aid Kit, Wolfsbane, Crucifx, or Holy Water, you are immediately out of the game. Where you are out of the game, you cannot remove a token from a Camper. You need to use Kate’s ability before you roll for defence.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: I’m down to my last Camper, and I just lost a battle to my Opponent’s Monsters. But my Opponent only has one Camper too. Can I use the Grim Reaper to kill my Opponent’s Camper thereby putting them out the game first?

A: No. If you have already rolled for defense and lost and are unable to prevent the death with First Aid Kit, Wolfsbane, Crucifx, or Holy Water, you are immediately out of the game. Where you are out the game, you can no longer play cards. You need to use Grim Reaper before you roll for defence.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: My Opponent only has one Camper and is attacking me with their Monsters. Before I roll for defense can I use Grim Reaper to kill my Opponent’s Camper, thereby preventing the attack?

A: Yes. When Grim Reaper sends your Opponent’s last Camper to the Boneyard, your Opponent is immediately out of the game and must pack up all of their Monsters and place them in the Boneyard. The attack is prevented because the Monsters are gone.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: My Opponent uses Grim Reaper on my last Camper. Can I respond by using Grave Error to return another Camper from the Boneyard?

A: No. As soon as Grim Reaper is played, your last Camper is sent to the Boneyard and you are immediately out of the game. Where you are out the game, you can no longer play cards.

Back to top

* * * * *


Q: If my Opponent uses Monster Mash and attacks with a horde that includes Zombies, Werewolves and Vampires, can I still use Holy Water, which prevents a loss to Zombies?

A: Yes. Where Zombies were included in the horde, Holy Water would save your Camper.

Back to top

Comments are closed.